The Charlotte Area Association of Black Journalists (CAABJ) is an affiliate chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ), a nonprofit organization focused on establishing strong ties among African-Americans working in the media and expanding and balancing the media's coverage of the African-American community and experience.

October 20, 2014

The 2014 CAABJ News Excellence Awards Competition is Here!

2013 CAABJ News Excellence Award Winners

The Charlotte Area Association of Black Journalists News Excellence Awards honor outstanding media coverage of or by African Americans. Last year, our debut contest saw outstanding submissions from dozens of entrants. This year we are expecting even greater participation!

The deadline is Monday, Nov. 17th. To ensure fairness, entries are judged by a sister chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ).  Winners will be announced at CAABJ’s annual year-end reception. Finalists will be complimentary guests at the reception 

All print, TV, radio and online news outlets (including blogs) are invited to submit in the following categories:

Hard news

Photography prizes will be awarded in two categories: features and breaking news.

Contest Rules: Entries must be submitted by Nov. 17, Click Here to Submit

Entries may be submitted by the journalist or by the employer.
     Only works published or broadcast between Oct. 31, 2013 and Nov. 17, 2014 are eligible.
     Each entry must contain either an active URL linking to the work or an attached file of the work
     There is no limit on the number of submissions to each category, but each submission must be made separately and accompanied by a contest entry fee of $25.
      Photo entries must be shown in their original context.
       Submissions become the property of CAABJ and will not be returned.
  Each entry can only be submitted in one category.

***Please include in the notes section of each submission your name, email and telephone number, the outlet that ran/aired the peice, your title there and a 2-3 sentence bio.***

Any questions, please email Emiene Wright, Awards Chair, at

No comments: